Navigation and service

Policy Lab Digital, Work & Society Fellowship Programme

The Policy Lab’s Fellowship Programme, launched in September 2021, gives up-and-coming scientists the opportunity to do research on topics concerning aspects of the digital transformation.

Shaping the future is a complex social process that involves many stakeholders. The Policy Lab is firmly engaged in the debates and discourse conducted among the scientific sphere, practitioners, organisations, associations, institutions and the general public. Most notably, a recurring dialogue with scientists is not only essential for developing realistic future scenarios but also for shaping new rules and true-to-life answers to the challenges digitalisation poses.

The Fellowship Programme that started with the initial fellows in September 2021 aims to contribute to making the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs open to new ideas. As part of its research fellowship, the Policy Lab Digital, Work & Society provides doctoral candidates and post-doctoral students with the chance to research aspects of the digital transformation that will play a decisive role in Work & Society 2040. The medium- to long-term intention for the programme is for it to  grow in size and scope, including gaining an international dimension.

The Policy Lab’s main topics serve as the content frame of reference; the Fellowship Programme, however, definitely encourages researching into marginal topics. At the outset of the programme, the main emphasis is on projects researching the subject of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in work and social services.

The first two fellows have started their research projects in September 2021 and will report on their projects in various formats. The Policy Lab calls for papers once a year via its website.

  • Mareike Winkler

    Research Fellow at the Policy Lab Digital, Work & Society

    Mareike Winkler pursues a doctorate at the Institute for Social Sciences at Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg. Subject of her research project: Artificial Intelligence (AI) in public administration – evidence-based examinations of shaping and implementing AI-supported systems in labour administration and social administration.

  • Sonja Köhne

    Research Fellow at the Policy Lab Digital, Work & Society

    Sonja Köhne is a postdoctoral associate in the Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society research group at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. In her research project From advertising promise to resistance? On the power of (personal) data in Germany, she examines the risks and potential of AI in human resources management.

Did you like this article? Share it with others:

Navigation und Service

Fellowship-Programm der Denkfabrik Digitale Arbeitsgesellschaft

Das Fellowship-Programm der Denkfabrik Digitale Arbeitsgesellschaft bietet Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen die Möglichkeit, zu Themen rund um Aspekte der digitalen Transformation zu forschen.

Die Gestaltung der Zukunft ist ein komplexer sozialer Prozess, an dem viele Akteur*innen beteiligt sind. Entsprechend verankert sich die Denkfabrik in den Debatten und Diskursen, die in Wissenschaft, Praxis, in Unternehmen, Verbänden, Institutionen und in der Öffentlichkeit geführt werden. Vor allem der Austausch mit der Wissenschaft ist essentiell für die Entwicklung realistischer Zukunftsszenarien ebenso wie für die Gestaltung neuer Regeln und lebensnaher Antworten auf die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung.

Das Fellowship-Programm, das im Herbst 2021 mit den ersten Fellows gestartet ist, soll dazu beitragen, das Arbeitsministerium durchlässig für neue Ideen zu machen. Im Rahmen ihres Research-Fellowships bietet die Denkfabrik Digitale Arbeitsgesellschaft zunächst Promovierenden und Postdoktorand*innen die Möglichkeit, zu Aspekten der digitalen Transformation, die die Arbeitsgesellschaft 2040 maßgeblich prägen werden, zu forschen. Perspektivisch soll das Programm um weitere, auch internationale Linien erweitert werden.

Als inhaltlicher Bezugsrahmen fungieren die Schwerpunktthemen der Denkfabrik, das Fellowship-Programm ermutigt aber durchaus, zu Randthemen zu forschen. Zum Start des Programmes liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Forschungsprojekten zum Thema KI in Arbeit und Sozialwesen.

Die ersten beiden Fellows haben im September 2021 mit ihren Forschungsprojekten begonnen und werden in unterschiedlichen Formaten über ihre Projekte berichten. Einmal im Jahr ruft die Denkfabrik über ihre Website zum Call for Papers auf.

  • Mareike Winkler

    Research-Fellow der Denkfabrik Digitale Arbeitsgesellschaft

    Mareike Winkler promoviert an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg am Institut für Sozialwissenschaften. Thema ihres Forschungsprojektes: „Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der öffentlichen Verwaltung – Evidenzbasierte Untersuchungen zur Gestaltung und Implementation KI-gestützter Systeme in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung.“

  • Sonja Köhne

    Research-Fellow der Denkfabrik Digitale Arbeitsgesellschaft

    Sonja Köhne ist assoziierte Doktorandin in der Forschungsgruppe Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft. In ihrem Forschungsprojekt „Von Werbeversprechen bis Widerstand? Zur Macht der (Personal-)daten in Deutschland“ untersucht sie die Risiken und Potenziale von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Personalführung.

Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen? Dann teilen Sie ihn doch mit anderen: